The ‘twin’ miniature phals have been looking a bit tired in recent months, and only one of them has flowered this year, so I thought it was worth re-potting them with fresh bark medium, in larger pots.
Already one of them has a new healthy green leaf and I’m hoping that this strategy will save them. I have also dispensed with the outer ceramic pots and left them just with the clear plastic inner pots, to get maximum light to the roots in this transitional phase.
The other miniature phal with a well-developed keiki has now got three roots and when they are slightly longer it will be time for me to give the plantlet a life of its own by cutting it free and planting it in a new pot.
The other orchids are still flowering and producing healthy foliage, the oldest (pink) will be ten years old next year and has both old flowers and a new flower spike too, at present.
It will soon be time to repot this one, after it has finished flowering this time and it will be necessary to use a nine inch pot, quite a bit of growth and several re-pottings since my wife bought it for me.

If you like this post, – please acknowledge.

http://www.robinsonart.co.uk

