I often refer to the age of my orchids by guesswork, so today I actually went back to August 2012 when I started writing ‘The Snakeblog’ and checked when I actually received them. I was given the pink orchid nine years ago and it was already a couple of years old I reckon. I bought the original ‘Flare Spots’ seven years ago, the twin miniature phals were a gift three years ago and the other miniature again a gift, three years ago too.
The first keiki which was from ‘Flare Spots’ is also three years old, and the second keiki became independent this year.
On the whole the plants are quite healthy although the ‘twin’ miniatures have struggled somewhat after their re-potting, I do not think they were completely healthy though from day one. However I will persevere to try to bring them up to scratch. I have kept the regime for all these years using the same techniques throughout the seasons and years, just repotting them in fresh potting medium when they show signs of being unhappy.

